1. zoupskim

zoupskim Contributor Contributor

Revision help.

Discussion in 'Setting Development' started by zoupskim, Jan 15, 2016.

I have the knife and red pen. I am in a bad mood, and am ready to hate everything I ever thought was good.

Time to revise.

I have changes to make on everything from plot points to technology inconsistencies. This is my first attempt at writing a book. What do I do? What do you do? Guide my holy red ink as I cut the fat from this disgusting waste of time and creative effort.

2. Lew

Lew Contributor Contributor

The sooner you get started, the sooner you will have a fine book... Editing stinks and it is the hardest part, no joy in creation just non-stop self-criticism. So dive in, get over with, and don't put it off. Like any nasty job, putting it off makes the anticipation worse. Sounds like you know what needs doing, so just do it and get it over with.

zoupskim likes this.
  3. thirdwind

thirdwind Member Contest Administrator Reviewer Contributor

I'm assuming that you've finished a first draft, which is a huge accomplishment. Not a lot of people get that far. There are several ways you can approach editing. It really depends on what works for you. Some people like to start revising right after finishing the first draft. Others like to take some time away from the project and return after a week or two. Whatever the case, you should keep in mind that there will probably be multiple revisions, so you'll be going through the manuscript several times.

If editing seems too overwhelming, my advice would be to start simple. Focus on one or two things on the first edit. Once that's taken care of, focus on the other issues. It's a long process, but that's just the nature of writing. Good luck!

zoupskim likes this.
  4. zoupskim

zoupskim Contributor Contributor