1. Marivian

Marivian New Member

Robert Jordan, Wheel Of Time, And Notes

Discussion in 'Plot Development' started by Marivian, Aug 14, 2014.

http://www.dragonmount.com/index.php/News/book-news/a-look-at-robert-jordans-notes-r751

As a writer I always wondered if my notes are written properly. I figured it doesn't matter as long as I can read them but I just stumbled across this and I'm relieved to see that his aren't very in depth either. For some reason I pictured Robert Jordan's notes to be very in depth detailing every single plot twist and turn but I see that isn't the case at all.

Anyone have any advice for writing notes? Is there any specific way to write them or is it kinda like I figured, every person does it differently?

2. archerfenris

archerfenris Active Member

This is very interesting. Books two through six on one page. Certainly a pantser. But this isn't really all that odd. All he needs is to get down the idea. So many things change between beginning to end.

Your notes are what you want them to be. Hell, when an idea for a new novel pops into my head it starts as a one sentence synopsis. I'm currently 40,000 some words into something that started as a sentence. Some people make detailed notes. When I write, however, the novel takes unexpected twists that I didn't even anticipate.

NanashiNoProfile and Marivian like this.
  3. Jaro

Jaro Active Member

I started working the way Robert McCammon does, after meeting him a few years back. He explains that he creates 'signpost' moments that he wants his story to achieve. For example the meeting of two characters, tragedy, etc. Then he just begins to write. Not planning anything out other than those various points. He says usually he doesn't even know how the story will get to that point until it does. Almost like he is reading a story that has already been written.

4. Beloved of Assur

Beloved of Assur Active Member