1. Greenbrier

Greenbrier New Member

Seeking suggestions for a format

Discussion in 'Genre Discussions' started by Greenbrier, Jun 20, 2019.

I have a story creating an abscess at the base of my brain that I have to attend to. I want to write about the arc of a family's story from the mid sixties to the present. I want to do it in a series of short, stand alone, stories that tie into the overarching narrative as well. So, I'm looking for examples of formats or story structures that may suit my purposes. I plan to look at The Illustrated Man. The problem with The Illustrated Man is that the stories were stand alone without much connection to the main narrative (as best I can remember). So, if you have a suggestion I am most eager to hear it.

2. deadrats

deadrats Contributor Contributor

Short story collections, even linked short stories, are a harder sell than novels. It also sounds like you're trying to write somewhat of a memoir. That's a whole different game. I think you need to decide if you're writing fiction or nonfiction, and I would rethink the structure.

3. matwoolf

matwoolf Banned Contributor

During your treatments, propped on a pillow, you might crayon entertaining captions aside your sketchings.

After your death the children bundle this crap into some collection for the charity that cared so tenderly over the duration/misery. The world will sob at the moving 'back-story,' how your tongue gripped the pencil,' watching our daytime TV schedules.

I'll buy a copy for my mother. You shall be world famous as the 'Rainbow Guy.' Thank you and rest in peace.

Cave Troll and Earp like this.
  4. Thundair

Thundair Contributor Contributor

My work (novel) is a group of short stories that start with tension, mayhem or murder and end with sex. I call them chapters.

5. jannert

jannert Retired Mod Supporter Contributor