1. DaWalrus

DaWalrus New Member

Simultaneous subs & kill fees?

Discussion in 'Traditional Publishing' started by DaWalrus, Jan 22, 2013.

Dear All,

I've just finished a short story and I feel I'm ready to submit. I know, yay, kaboom, party poppers, lots of tequila and weed, but no crack or acid yet. That will have to wait until the story is accepted. But here's a caveat: I am a first-time author.

I've done some homework, of course. I thought, the best strategy would be to submit to several magazines that allow simultaneous submissions. The pros are obvious. Are there any cons?

How many magazines are too many? (I have about 20 on my list so far)

Also, if a magazine mentions a kill fee, should that be a turnoff? Does that indicate they are in a habit of withdrawing accepted stuff?

I know, questions, questions, questions, but I'd really appreciate any help.

Happy MLK!

2. GoldenGhost

GoldenGhost Senior Member

I would suggest compiling a list of professionally paying magazines. Where elese would you want your work to be presented? I would want it handled no less, nor would I want to treat it anything but professionally.

duotrope is a great resource for markets, and you can search within the genre.

I wouldn't really go the Simultaneous route, for it pisses editors off, even if they accept those kinds of submissions. What if they fall in love with it? And you get accepted elsewhere and have to remove it?

Pretty sure the next time you submit to that magazine, they're going to be a bit wary.

Anyway, create a list of professional magazines, and then semi-pro magaznies, and so on and so forth, starting with the best, and ending with the last on the totem pole. Be patient and take your time. Editors will silently thank you for the unspoken respect, and you'll also save your reputation, especially if the work is good.

Go down the list until it finds a home.