1. benjicorb

benjicorb New Member

Noobie questions/advice please.

Discussion in 'Genre Discussions' started by benjicorb, Sep 13, 2010.

Hi all, new kid here.

O.K so basically I was looking for a little advice on a small, or maybe not so small, problem I have.

So I came up with a really great idea for a film initially but it could also have been a novel and I wasn't entirely sure which way to go. Anyway I went ahead and wrote the screenplay, which took me quite some time but, though I am very pleased with it, I am finding it almost impossible to get my script even read, let alone optioned or anything as I am not a proffessional writer or anything like that.

So now I am wishing I had written it as a novel and am in fact thinking about doing it anyway.

I am hoping most of the work has been done in terms of creativity/structure of the actual story so I am willing to give it a go. the only thing is I know little about writing a novel and have in fact not even read that many so I may find problems with creative vocabulary, pacing , chapters etc.

I truly believe in my story and think it really is worth pursuing. I never really made a conscious decision to be a writer, I just can't let this go. Just for your info I live in the U.K I am 30 years old and my story is action/fantasy, any advice or pointers in the right direction would be hugely appreciated, many thanks, Ben. :D

2. Quorum1

Quorum1 New Member

I'm not sure that rewriting your screenplay as a novel is going to make it more likely to be read. As a non-published writer you'll be lucky to be read no matter what you submit!

I also think you will find that most of the work in a good novel is in the art of the writing, not the storyline.