1. D.Mears

D.Mears New Member

Steampunk/General Genre Enquiry

Discussion in 'Fantasy' started by D.Mears, Feb 10, 2015.

Hello all!

So I am currently playing around with an idea for a novel and I could use some guidance. I am currently working on a fantasy epic (fantasy being my preferred genre to both read and write), however epic books take a long time to piece together and aren't necessarily good for first time publication.

Essentially I have been playing around with ideas for a shorter novel series that I can complete in the meantime and hopefully push forward as my first published work. As a fantasy writer I find that the magic system is often the component that I like to scratch out first as I feel getting an interesting magic system together can often then lead to an interesting book in quite a natural and fluent way.

So in that spirit I have come up with a magical system for this new book that differs from my epics. Here is the reason I specifically want the input of any Steampunk fans (I know there are plenty of sub-genres but please bear with me). I have been thinking about a fantasy setting outside of the middle-ages/ancient periods which is where I tend to automatically go as it feels like the most natural fit. I have specifically been thinking about something set around the colonial era (so swords, early black-powder/flintlock weaponry etc.). Now unfortunately the new magic system I have come up with doesn't lend itself to being used as a power source and I would like to keep away from electricity as much as I can. That said there are aspects that I wish to include that do require some sort of power source. Now it seems to me that the power source which fits into this setting in the most natural way would be steam power and it also seems to me that heavy use of steam power can often be associated with the overarching genre of Steampunk (please do correct me if I am wrong in this assumption).