1. Michael Short

Michael Short New Member

Story idea question.

Discussion in 'Plot Development' started by Michael Short, Sep 9, 2014.

Hi everyone, I am a fairly new writer and am new to this forum. I have been working on an idea for a story for a while now and I think it's coming together quite well so far. My only concern is that I am perhaps making it a bit too complex.

So far I have a main character who has a problem and a reason for the character to take action. Although now i've also come up with an idea for an additional problem which will complicate the character's reason to solve the first problem.

Am I complicating things too much? I hope it makes sense.

GingerCoffee likes this.
  2. Canopyvine

Canopyvine Member

I think you are being too general in your description for me to understand what your plot is, but I would say that two problems shouldn't make things too complicated. If the writer is good at what he does I have read books with lots of intertwined subplots that flow well and are very addictive.

Also it is hard to tell most of the time that something doesn't work before you try it. If you feel that the second problem is very important for the plot, just write it and then you will get a better grasp of whether it is good or not.

3. Michael Short

Michael Short New Member

Thanks Canopyvine, I will just make a start on it I guess and see what happens. :)

4. Garball

Garball Banned Contributor

As you write, your characters will come to life and begin to solve their own problems. When I started writing my MS, I was sure that my MC was going to off himself in the end. When we got there, there was no way Herb would ever kill himself.

GingerCoffee likes this.
  5. GingerCoffee

GingerCoffee Web Surfer Girl Contributor

No, complicate away. Complicated is what makes a good story, if it's well written.

And welcome to the forum.

6. Christine Ralston

Christine Ralston Active Member