1. Lewdog

Lewdog Come ova here and give me kisses! Supporter Contributor

Style Straight forward writing vs. 'flowery' writing

Discussion in 'General Writing' started by Lewdog, Aug 8, 2015.

I've had some people tell me that I'm a straight forward writer. I don't use big words and I don't overdo the descriptions of characters and scenery. I say what needs to be said and depend on the writer to do a little bit of work understanding what is going on.

Can a person with the type of style as mine be successful or does it take 'flowery' writing? When I saw 'flowery' writing I mean the type with strong words and descriptions that draw the reader into the story and leave little to the imagination.

Thoughts?

PiP likes this.
  2. GingerCoffee

GingerCoffee Web Surfer Girl Contributor

Purple prose: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Purple_prose

Probably not what you want. Maybe they meant you need more description?

Renee J and Hubardo like this.
  3. ChickenFreak

ChickenFreak Contributor Contributor

I feel that there are three parts of your question:

- Avoiding big words and, I assume, also avoiding fairly baroque and fancy phrasing--that's how I think of flowery writing.
    - Avoiding substantial descriptions of characters and scenery.
    - Letting the reader do some of the work figuring things out.

I approve of the first and the third. For the second, I feel the need for more explanation. Certainly, a book that goes on about limpid eyes and silken hair makes me want to throw it at something. But I do like enough description to allow me to build a mental picture. There's a bit from Robert Barnard's Death of a Mystery Writer that I've used before as an example of handling thought. It's also an example of a minimalist description that nevertheless, IMO, produces a pretty clear picture: