1. RunningWind92

RunningWind92 New Member

Strong plot summary?

Discussion in 'Plot Development' started by RunningWind92, Aug 30, 2017.

Hi everyone. So, I've been a poetry writer for six years but fiction is a completely new territory for me. This will be a YA novel taking place in the modern day, first beginning in New Jersey, or possibly on the Greyhound bus in which the main protagonist, Lacey, is traveling on with her parents. They move to a small southern town (unsure which yet), and the protagonist develops feelings for a boy, Noah, who is in one of her classes, the 7 foot tall center for her high school's basketball team. Aside from school, she volunteers at the local animal shelter in which Noah is also a volunteer there. This is the first time they interact face to face. Throughout the novel, Lacey helps Noah, with school, his father is dying of cancer and he is extremely close with him - but I'm unsure what Lacey's conflict is. Thanks!

2. Tenderiser

Tenderiser Not a man or BayView

Is this a romance? The relationship between Lacey and Noah seems to be the main driver. If so, then the conflict needs to be a thing that keeps them apart - that stops them being a happy couple from day 1. You mention obstacles in Noah's life (his father's illness, perhaps struggling to fit in basketball training with other school work?) but none in Lacey's. Lacey is your main character, so her obstacles need to be more interesting than anybody else's.