1. Floppyear

Floppyear New Member

Correct perspective (Newb)

Discussion in 'Character Development' started by Floppyear, May 16, 2020.

I'm a total newb here, and with writing also, so I apologise if I'm doubling up with something already covered, but I couldn't find the answer I need. Perhaps I'm not familiar with the correct terms to search either so it could be right in front of me.

In short, if I'm writing a book about a father having to go to some extremes to save the life of his daughter, what perspective should I write that from in your opinion? I'm choosing to do it from the father's point of view so he is story A and I have another character to fill the position of story B.

I have a tendency to write as if it's a screenplay because I am a teacher and I pretty much talk as if giving a lesson, subseqently I write in a way that is basically outlining all of the detail in the scene and how the characters feel based on what they see and know. Possibly not creating a single perspective and possibly stifling creative interpretation on behalf of the reader when in fact I'm trying to add to it... like I said I'm a total newb.

Last edited by a moderator: May 16, 2020
  2. Naomasa298

Naomasa298 HP: 10/190 Status: Confused Contributor

Are you intending to write in first person or third person?

3. Floppyear

Floppyear New Member

I'm not really sure. The way I was writing it was more third person but the feedback I was given was that it didn't really capture anybody's perspective specifically, it was just an overall view... I like that but the feedback also suggested that it made it less engrossing and didn't establish a connection with teh characters because it was too clinic and distant.

4. Naomasa298

That's called omniscient third.

You have the option of close third.
    https://www.ignitedinkwriting.com/ignite-your-ink-blog-for-writers/third-person-close-point-of-view-definition-pros-and-cons/2018

Cave Troll likes this.
  5. Cave Troll