1. Allan Adams

Allan Adams Member

Currently Reading::
    Harry Potter and the Deathly Hollows

Super Friends

Discussion in 'Scripts and screenplays' started by Allan Adams, Apr 5, 2021.

Hey everyone, I'm a huge fan of the CW TV shows and after watching Flash; episode 'Duet', I was inspired to transform this into a stage musical.

If you haven't seen the episode I strongly suggest it even if you're not into superheroes.

Anyway, my problem is I want to add more songs to the mix but I'm having trouble coming up with inspiration. I've never written a song before so, I'm hoping some people here have suggestions on how to come up with great song lyrics.

Thanks all

2. Xoic

Xoic Prognosticator of Arcana Ridiculosum Contributor Blogerator

I don't know much about song lyrics, but I learned something from Joss Whedon about using songs in a show. He said he doesn't like the kind of musical where a song comes on and the story just stops until it's over—the lyrics and what's happening should advance the story.

He did an amazing musical episode of Buffy the Vampire Slayer called Hush where he did just that (s4 e10). In fact, he learned how to play a few instruments so he and his wife could write the songs for it. Some of the finest broadcast TV I've ever seen, though you probably should be somewhat familiar with the show before watching it. I have the entire box set of the series, which includes some juicy behind the scenes tidbits and the ones for Hush are excellent—if you can get your hands on it in any way I recommend it.

It's the same with gags or bits in a comedy. If you watch a Marx Brothers movie, the story just freezes every time one of them does their shtick, or the 3 Stooges when one of them is wrestling with a folding chair or whatever. It gets annoying once you become aware of it. That kind of thing is really a holdover from from Vaudeville or early movies.

Last edited: Apr 5, 2021
    Storysmith likes this.
  3. Homer Potvin