Tags:
  1. deadrats

deadrats Contributor Contributor

Novel The break

Discussion in 'Genre Discussions' started by deadrats, Mar 12, 2020.

It's been about three months since I finished a rough draft of my novel. I briefly felt accomplished and put it away while I worked on other writing. I am a short story writer and essayist by trade, you could say. All my friends were writing novels. Oh, how I give to fit in. But really, I want to publish my novel. I probably want to publish a few because I had fun with the one I just wrote. Plus, everyone who's publishing in the big magazines and journals has books in there bios. And the prizes you can get from a novel pay a hell of a lot more than the short stuff prizes. I'm talking Pulitzers and Pushcarts.

Anyway, I've given my novel a lot of thought since finishing it. I made it up as I was going. It actually went in a slightly different direction than I thought. It's a mystery of sorts and I surprised myself with the ending. I did quite a bit of editing and revision along the way. It's just now that I know how it ends I want to go back and add some clues, sort of beef up the investigation. Maybe even throw in another twist somewhere.

I did write a synopsis for it because I was supposed to email it to someone. I just wasn't ready for any kind of help right now. My draft is super rough and I know that. I would love to hear from some of you how long you step away from your novel. What's a good break when you know there's going to be so much work to do? Last time I wrote a novel I never wrote a second draft. It was never published. I don't want to shoot myself in the foot again. Novels are hard. I have no idea how many draft I'll need. I just want to make this one work. I'm freaking out a little even about opening the file. So, now I don't know if I'm taking a necessary break from such a large project or I'm just procrastinating. How do you know the difference?

2. alittlehumbugcalledShe

alittlehumbugcalledShe Active Member