1. Strategos1618

Strategos1618 New Member

The goal, to be funny. Help me dear writer.

Discussion in 'Comedy and Humour' started by Strategos1618, Jun 14, 2013.

Hello,

I am 19 years of age and I am looking for advice!

I am about to embark on writing a short and hopefully funny film. I am willing to learn whatever I need to learn and work as much is needed.

What advice do you have for me? as I understand it, one is to create funny from inspiration and also from comedic structure. I know nothing more than that and by that I mean I do not know exactly what a comedic structure is even.

Also, will the study of rhetoric enhance my ability to make people laugh? from what I understand of comedy, it is a build up of emotion and then a sudden release of such tension. Of course one of the modes of persuasion is to appeal to the emotion, so I would think so, but I could be wrong as I am no expert on any of the things I am talking about.

Forgive me on my grammar and assumptions, I am largely uneducated and know nothing.

Any advice will be appreciated, I hope on hearing from you.

THANKS!

2. Scot McPhie

Scot McPhie Member

Last edited: Aug 31, 2014
  3. mammamaia

mammamaia nit-picker-in-chief Contributor

have you written any other shorts?... have you studied the award-winning humorous shorts?... have you downloaded and studied the scripts?... how long will yours run?

for starters, to do what i've mentioned above...

there isn't any one-template-fits-all for humor... comedy often arises from contrast... as in 'ordinary' people finding themselves in extraordinary situations... or v/v, with 'odd' folks dealing with 'normal' situations/events...

i don't see how it can, if you don't have a gift for comedy to start with... i don't think one can be taught to have a quirky sense of humor... one either has it naturally, or doesn't...