1. Tessie

Tessie Contributor Contributor

Time Travel

Discussion in 'Research' started by Tessie, Mar 26, 2011.

All right, yada yada, getting through the long intro to the bottom line - I'm looking for research material on time traveling. I would appreciate any books or suggestions on current theories. The concept has always been a fascination of mine. I'd love to go back and see certain people and events of American history, and I want my current novel to be portrayed as accurately as possible to the technology and forensics scientists believe make time travel possible. I'm really a beginner at this, so I'm looking for the basics to start with.

Thanks everyone!

2. Sidewinder

Sidewinder Contributor Contributor

I love time travel stories. My favourite is Dr. Futurity by Philip K. Dick. Another fun one is Roadmarks by Roger Zelazny.

Here's something pretty cool that I think someone should adapt into a screenplay: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/John_Titor

I hear Primer is pretty much the best time travel movie ever. I still haven't seen it, though.

3. JMTweedie

JMTweedie New Member

If you want a few factual basics then I recommend having a look at howstuffworks.com, it's got a great section on time travel in there. Stephen Hawking books are also useful.

Unfortunately they all theorise that backwards time travel is not possible but as time slows down the faster you get to the speed of light,then you may be able to come up with a form of travel that is faster than light and therefore theoretically time would go in reverse.

4. Tessie

Sidewinder, that is a very interesting story about John Titor. Obviously there is still a lot to investigate. Maybe somebody will put it into a screenplay, though. Anything is going nowadays.

JMTweddie, you've gutted me. What? Time travel backwards is not possible?

5. JMTweedie

JMTweedie New Member

Sorry about that.

You don't need to base it on fact though. Fiction can still bend the rules of physics even if we can't.