1. zethren

zethren New Member

Tips for 1st person writing?

Discussion in 'Word Mechanics' started by zethren, Apr 10, 2009.

Hello all :)

I just have a quick question to ask you guys. I have some experience writing, as I'm nearing 55,000 words on my first Fiction novel written in 3rd person.

I also have a very small amount of experience writing in the first person, but only for short stories or a chapter or two. Basically, I've never written a full length piece in the 1st person.

So, I was wondering if any of you more experienced writers out there had any basic tips for someone who was interested in tackling a full length 1st person novel?

I was also thinking about breaking up the novel in both the 1st person and 3rd person (mixing the two when appropriate). Is this a good idea? Bad idea?

Thanks for any and all help!

2. Miswrite

Miswrite New Member

I'm by no means experienced, but I know that if you write first person, you have to be wary when it comes to two main things:
    1. Forcing emotions onto the reader
    2. Using too many "I said, I did"s

The first is more difficult to manage - basically, if your writing doesn't create a happy atmosphere, but your MC goes on and on about how overjoyed they are, that's forcing emotions onto the reader, and that makes the reader angry. And you won't like him when he's angry.

The second is just hard to avoid. All sentences seem to fall into the pattern of "I _____, _____ing to _____ _____ _____" or, even worse, just "I _____. I _____ _____ _____. I _____ _____." It takes practice and time to stop writing like this, and even some published writers stil haven't developed that skill ;)

As for breaking up your novel's writing, that doesn't sound too good to me. There are people who like that sort of thing, but I think it'll cause the reader to get dizzy from all the changes in focus the novel goes through.

3. KP Williams

KP Williams Active Member