1. ildaite

ildaite New Member

Tricky punctuation question regarding quotes

Discussion in 'Word Mechanics' started by ildaite, Sep 19, 2010.

Hi all,

Wondering if you could help me with a punctuation query...

I have a sentence that goes as follows ".We were shocked by John's response to Mike's question: 'Where were you?" ; "With Sally".

Does this make sense?! Sorry, I'm not very good with punctuation...It's probably not tricky at all, but I am so confused as to how to make it clear.

Could I just say We were shocked by John's response to Mike's question: 'Where were you?" which was: "With Sally".
    This is probably quite weak too...

How can I fix it? Any suggestions??

2. Cogito

Cogito Former Mod, Retired Supporter Contributor

Each speaker should have his or her own paragraph.

Your punctuation is a mess, and I can't be sure how much is intended to wrap the example, and how much IS the example.

This may help: He said, she said - Mechanics of Dialogue

3. erik martin

erik martin Active Member

Generally, you don't want to start a sentence with a period.:)

Couple of ideas:

"We were shocked by John's response to Mike's question of 'where were you?' 'With Sally,' he had replied."

Actually in typing that out, it doesn't really sound like dialogue at all. I guess I would have to see it in context, but it sounds more like narrative.

If it is some relaying what had happened to a third party, I could see how it could be dialogue. Maybe something like,

"Mike asked John where he had been, then John shocked everyone by saying that he had been with Sally."

4. Erik's correction is good, but it you want to keep it all in the same line, I wouldn't put 'with sally.' I would say something like this: He replied that he had been with Sally. That way, it's all one paragraph, which I think is what you're looking for.

5. Cogito

Even if the speech is indirect, a change of speaker should be in a new paragraph.

6. Horizon Noise

Horizon Noise New Member