1. Dismas

Dismas New Member

Two different plots in one?

Discussion in 'Plot Development' started by Dismas, Sep 19, 2015.

Alright, so I have this novel planned out in my head and I'm beginning to wonder if this plot is going to work structurally.

So here's the basics of part 1: One character, named Noah, joins a space recon group during a huge war. Noah has had a history of poor job performance due to his lack of social skills. He is afraid of being abandoned by his family who increasingly see him as a black sheep, so he joins the group to prove himself worthwhile. The recon company sends small, single pilot ships into abandoned systems to track enemy movement. Noah, an engineer by trade , is forced to become a pilot due to staff shortages. So he goes to the system, his ship begins falling apart and eventually he crashes on an abandoned planet suffering a severe nuclear winter. Noah attempts several times to contact his superiors, but planned rescues never come and eventually loses contact with the outside world entirely. At the same time, Noah comes to believe that he is being hunted by an alien on the planet, making him extremely paranoid. Eventually he confronts what he thinks to be the Alien and shoots it, only to find out that it was a human being, the only other person left on the planet. In fit of rage and grief, Noah destroys his ship's communication systems, finally accepting that he has abandoned. He then walks off in a snow storm.

This story here has all the basic parts of a plot structure. There's a setup (Noah takes on a dangerous mission to prove his worth to society), rising actions (dealing with the ship falling apart, the alien he believes is hunting him, and his constant attempts to contact the outside world) , a climax (Noah shooting the only other human being on the world), and a denouement (Noah destroys his comm, accepts his fate, falls into madness). This is all fine and good, but the problem is that this is not the whole story.