1. Ben414

Ben414 Contributor Contributor

Using the same pronoun to represent different characters

Discussion in 'Character Development' started by Ben414, Mar 12, 2014.

As a neophyte writer, I'm struggling with the use of pronouns such as he or she to represent multiple characters in the same scene and the same paragraph. I'm wondering if there is any loose rule to govern pronoun usage. For example, does the preceding action dictate who the pronoun refers to? Or is the context of the action enough for a reader (i.e. only one character has a butter knife so spreading butter must be that character)?

Let's pretend I wrote: "He sat down in the chair. The man smiled at him." Would the reader expect that the next "he" refer to the first character or the smiling man? Are there any tricks to make sure your pronoun usage is understood?

Thanks for the help!

2. GingerCoffee

GingerCoffee Web Surfer Girl Contributor

If it's not clear who you are referring to, use their name. If the pronoun follows any named or identified person, the pronoun typically refers to that person unless it logically cannot. That's where it gets tedious and you may choose to rewrite the sentence, but do keep to the rule.

"Mary told her" - since Mary is acting you can assume 'her' is someone else.

"Mary went to the store. She went with her." - Since 'she' follows Mary, 'she' refers to Mary, no matter how clear you think it is that 'her' refers to Mary.

"Mary went to the store. Alice went with her. (Or Alice went with Mary.)"

In this case since Alice went with someone so that someone cannot be Alice. 'Her' refers back to the last logically connected noun, Mary.

The idea is to trace your pronouns back and make sure they follow directly the person the pronoun refers to.

3. EdFromNY

EdFromNY Hope to improve with age Supporter Contributor

That's it, in a nutshell. You want to make things clear for the reader. This is one of the things you should be looking for when you proofread your work.