1. Ed.

Ed. New Member

What's wrong with Faith?

Discussion in 'Discussion of Published Works' started by Ed., Dec 12, 2021.

Hello,

I'm studying for an exam where I may have to write a story in 45min including planning and checking. The prompt may be a picture or it may be a written one (e.g "Write a story with the title Abandoned" or "Write a story about two people from very different backgrounds").

I've tried to write a few stories in the time limit but they've all been boring. So I've decided to analyse some short stories which I enjoy, in the hope that I'll get a feel for how a good story is put together and begin to write better ones myself.

I've read about some structures such as beginning, middle, end; and the W plot, but I don't seem able to form a story around them within the allocated 5-7 minutes planning time.

Many thanks,
    Ed.

Last edited by a moderator: Dec 12, 2021
  2. evild4ve

evild4ve Critique is stranger than fiction Supporter Contributor

I'm not sure if this thread will meet with the prohibition on "homework" - but it does at least seem to be voluntary self-study rather than a set exercise.
    And the OP is some distance into a creative writing course, and has discovered their stories are boring.
    This must be taken as a desperate cry for assistance from a fellow literate human being!

Not least because if the OP passes the exam, the course might turn him/her into another Joanne Harris, with all that entails.

(Referring to http://www.joanne-harris.co.uk/v3site/stories/Story_FaithAndHopeGoShopping.html)

The flaw in the Faith character is that she likes expensive shoes. It isn't any deeper than that. She wins her battle against temptation by refusing the shoes.
    The story lacks an antagonist: or rather it wants 'Society' to be the antagonist and relies on the reader having set cultural assumptions about how old people are normally treated.