1. Masked Mole

Masked Mole Senior Member

What's Your Strength?

Discussion in 'General Writing' started by Masked Mole, May 2, 2015.

I would be interested to hear what everyone thinks his or her strengths (or weaknesses) in writing might be. For instance, I like to think that I'm good at working on characters and using their dialogue to form connections. I also like to make their motivations and philosophies evident in the text. I'm not very good at finding big, epic plot points though. Also, do you use this strength often to form a particular style?
    Feel free to pat yourselves on the back. I won't judge. ;)
    MM

2. Jak of Hearts

Jak of Hearts Active Member

I personally feel my greatest strength is the fleshing out I do to my characters in their development. Its not large stuff that makes the story, but the little things that you could take out and they don't effect the plot but build the character in a real way (the character who colors with crayons to curb her anxiety, the guy that drops his father's name in conversation way too much, the ex-slave who compulsively spends hours in front of a mirror on her appearance even when not going anywhere in particular, etc). I do feel like I use this strength in my writing because I focus on these aspects without blatantly calling attention to them. These items then show the development of the character without it feeling like you're being hit over the head with it. My weakness though is definitely dialogue. It always feels so forced when I write it.

3. VirtuallyRealistic

VirtuallyRealistic Active Member

I believe my greatest strength is plot. I also think I'm fair with dialogue and characterization. My greatest weakness is definitely setting, which is unfortunate since I love fantasy. I can have a beautiful setting in my head, but struggle to put it into words elegantly. It always comes out clunky.

4. Boger

Boger Senior Member