1. Connect

Connect New Member

When an idea feels as though it was planted in your head..

Discussion in 'Plot Development' started by Connect, Feb 1, 2015.

Wierd title for this one!
    I have had some experience of writing and have made some money from it in the past but am new to fiction.
    I've been working on a novel and have started it but only had a rough idea of the direction it was going to go in. I had enough direction to enable me to start as the first few chapters didn't hinge on going straight into any plotline.
    Despite the idea having been knocking around in my brain for years and starting the writing I still couldn't hammer down a synopsis. I'd written loads of notes / ideas for a plot but none of them felt right but then out of the blue one day the whole plot jumped straight into my head. I started writing it down as fast as possible before it vanished. It was just such a strange feeling as if I didn't think of the plot and someone just "popped" it in my head! Very odd.
    No doubt it was due to my sub-conscience having been working in the background all along. It just felt odd as if it wasn't my idea if you see what I mean?
    Just wondered if anyone else has had that or maybe it's just me going a bit mad!?! As I say, I am new to fiction so this may be perfectly normal! :)

Last edited: Feb 1, 2015
    Boger and Simpson17866 like this.
  2. Uberwatch

Uberwatch Active Member

I'm experiencing this right now. I got a couple stories that are constantly developing in the back of my head everyday. I just don't know when to start writing one of those because everyday, the stories in my head keep looking better and better. And it's only a matter of time when I need to stop the development phase.

Simpson17866 likes this.
  3. Lea`Brooks

Lea`Brooks Contributor Contributor