1. JeanneB

JeanneB New Member

When do you know you're ready to publish?

Discussion in 'Traditional Publishing' started by JeanneB, Jun 5, 2010.

Greetings,

I'm new to this whole forum thing so forgive me in advance for any faux pas. ;)

My question is this, when do you know if your book is ready for publishing?

I'm a novice writer and have never been published. I have a completed manuscript, which I'm currently re-editing. I've researched the necessary steps to get it published, but when I sit down to write my query letter, I come up empty. I don't know how to even draft the first sentence. I'm afraid that all the reading I've done about writing the perfect query letter/proposal may have had some adverse affects. And here I thought writing the book was going to be the difficult part. ;)

Thoughts, advice, suggestions?

2. izanobu

izanobu New Member

Just get it done. I know it sounds simple, but really, just write the query and don't stress too much over it. It'll either work or it won't. Meanwhile, write the next book. I've found it helps me stop stressing about each individual work when I treat the process as just that, a process. Your first novel might not be good enough to publish, but you won't know unless you send it out and try. And your second. And your third, etc...

A book isn't an event. It's just a book. Send it out, write another, repeat. Eventually if you are working on your skills and getting lots of writing practice in (which is what writing new words should be), you'll start selling. :)

3. thirdwind

thirdwind Member Contest Administrator Reviewer Contributor

You will be ready to submit the manuscript once it is revised and polished to the best of your ability. As for the query letter, there are a lot of guides and sample letters that can be found online. You can use one as sort of a template and work from there.

4. JeanneB

JeanneB New Member

Thank you both for your feedback and suggestions.
    I'll just keep plugging away at it. :)