1. Mr.Spock

Mr.Spock New Member

Where Do I Begin?

Discussion in 'Setting Development' started by Mr.Spock, Oct 27, 2011.

Hello, I've been toying with the idea of starting my own Zombie survival story for the past 12 months, maybe longer. Whenever I originally decided to publish it on a blog however I would actually like to try my chances of having it published. I've been attempting this thing, as I say, for around 12 months give or take and whenever I try and start, I face the same fence. Where do I begin my story? Do I start it pre-apocolypse? post-apolocypse? Do I start and finish it like The Sopranos where you just happen to visit his life one day, watch it for however many seasons, then leave his life while the story will potentially carry on without you as it did before you started watching.

There's so many possible ways to begin and it feels like writer's block without having started. I keep telling myself that once I get the intro sorted, the rest of it will flow to me.

How do I decide where to begin my tale of the undead?

Thank you for your time!

2. Allan Paas

Allan Paas New Member

When you are in conflict with yourself, just start writing it. Doesn't matter if you begin the story before or after the apocalypse. You can always add, remove, edit later. What is important is that you begin writing.

You can always write down all the possible beginnings and choose the best of them and go on from that. Or have different characters and each of them their own beginning at their own time, whether its before or after the event.

3. Pallas

Pallas Contributor Contributor

You have to find that sweet spot; that point of access that makes it easier for you to start and continue writing; it is difficult to say exactly but it should feel interesting to you, and build with a good cadence.

4. walshy12238

walshy12238 New Member

Here's what I'd do: Pick two options, and flip a coin to decide.

5. Mr.Spock

Mr.Spock New Member