1. deadrats

deadrats Contributor Contributor

Short Story Why do I still write bad stories?

Discussion in 'Genre Discussions' started by deadrats, Nov 5, 2020.

I've been writing short stories for a pretty long time, and I tend to be a prolific writer. I know I'm a better writer than I was five years ago or whatever amount of time, but I still churn out bad stories more often than I want. Of course, I never want to write bad stories, but it almost seems like I have to before I can produce something good. And even as I improve as a writer, some of my short stories just aren't that great. I do revise and really work most stories and some can be salvaged at least in part.

Other times I'll write something that's better than I thought I could do. I still put the work in it to make it as good as I can. And those ones come out pretty great sometimes. So, if I can write a great short story, why do I still write a bunch of bad ones?

This is my profession. I've been good enough times to say that. But it doesn't change the fact that I'm not always very good. It's frustrating and makes me second guess myself a lot.

Question for other short story writers -- How many bad stories do you need to write before you can write a good one? Or maybe this is just a problem I have. I can write a good story. I just can't always write a good story. The good stories I do write sometimes feel like the exception. If I wasn't prolific, I don't think I would have gotten very far as a short story writer. Does anyone understand this or feel similarly about their short stories?

Starscade likes this.
  2. Hammer

Hammer Moderator Staff Supporter Contributor