1. ocean blue

ocean blue New Member

writing a fantasy villain

Discussion in 'Character Development' started by ocean blue, May 17, 2018.

Hi! New member here!
    (Please feel free to let me know if I've made some mistake in where I put this thread, or how I tagged it, or anything like that. I'm still learning the ropes.)

I'm writing a fantasy story (just for fun, basically; I don't plan on publishing or anything) and I'd like some outside feedback on the main villain. The entire premise of the story is (intentionally) pretty generic and stereotypical, so I'm not overly concerned about making him SUPER original and unlike anything ever seen before, but I'd also like to avoid making him flat and predictable.

I should probably preface this with a brief explanation of my fantasy universe's magic system. Basically, magic is based on probability: whether or not someone is magical is entirely random, and the magic works by simply causing EXTREMELY unlikely events to happen spontaneously. If that makes any sense.
    Magic is highly "chaotic" and will often (but not always) drive a person insane if they are born with its power. Such a person is known as a "chaos magician" (working name). They are highly unpredictable and have utterly no conscience, making them very dangerous.

Anyway, here goes:

The main villain is a chaos magician, but not just an ordinary one. He's a Nightmare, (another working name) which means he can enter people's minds and control their thoughts. Such a creature is extremely dangerous, and extremely rare; a Nightmare has not been seen for nearly one hundred years.
    But this is where he starts to become kind of uninteresting: his main goal is to destroy the entire world... and that's about it. Where's the depth? What's his motivation? I want something more interesting than just "he's crazy!"