1. Thomas Kitchen

Thomas Kitchen Proofreader in the Making Contributor

Writing a graphic novel

Discussion in 'Genre Discussions' started by Thomas Kitchen, Jul 30, 2013.

Hi there,

I have a few questions regarding writing a graphic novel. First of all, I just want to say that I have an idea of the story and I definitely have the main character drawn out in my head, so I am still in the planning stages. I do know, however, that the story would not work as a straight-up novel, and in fact I believe the frames will enhance it. But are there any websites that can help me in knowing the difference between graphic-novel and novel writing? Because I have zero experience in this area, apart from having read a few of the things myself. In fact, any tips at all would be great.

Also, how would I go about hiring an artist, and how much should I pay them? I know it depends on their experience and skill, but obviously I don't want either of us (artist or writer) to get scammed. I've thought about putting up an advertisement in my local art college, which may be a good idea, but again, how much would you pay someone like that? Any help = awesomeness.

Any general "helpy" stuff is fine by me. :D

*Edit*
    Another thing: how should I go about writing the story? Should I write a few bits of dialogue and then write down how I want that particular frame to look like, or should I write the entire thing and then think about how to lay it out? Thanks. :)

2. TWErvin2

TWErvin2 Contributor Contributor

If you're going to seek traditional publishing for your graphic novel, then you would not do the art work. If accepted, the publisher will hire the artist.