1. Russell

Russell New Member

Novel Writing and the journey of learning

Discussion in 'Genre Discussions' started by Russell, Jun 30, 2009.

Hi Folks,

I've just embarked on my journey to discover my literary side, and am looking for some thoughts on where I should go from here.

First a little background. I'm a 43 year old male from Queensland, Australia. I have an IT Degree and currently work as a project manager. My family have recent had a tree change from the big city to a rural setting, and I'm trying to get more joy and less stress out of life, as after years of making money and being miserable, we've come to realise it's the quality of life that's important, not the quantity.

I've wanted to write a Novel ever since high school, but never considered myself to have the potential. Not from lack of ideas (my dreams alone could fill a thousand short stories - if I could remember them all that is) or skill (I'm not an English genius, but my grades at school and university were above avergae), but probably more from being able to dedicate the time & effort to complete the job.

So, now that I'm looking for a more fulfilling life, I'm determined I'm going to make time to discover if I do have a spark of literary genius inside me. That's where I'm at now. I've decided I'm going to give it a shot, and am wondering where I should go next.

First of all, I see three streams to follow to enlighten myself :-

1. Take the Nike approach (i.e. just do it, write and see what happens)
    2. Self Education - Buy some books on creative writing/internet research and see how I go
    3. Formal Education - undertake some form of study

The pro's & con's I see for each option are :-

Pro: Cheap, immediate, mandatory
    Con: Hard to improve

Pro: Relative cheap, expands my understanding of the craft
    Con: Time consuming finding good information, takes away from #1, trouble knowing what is good and what is bad information

Pro: Formal training from supposed experts