1. jim79

jim79 Member

writing anxiety

Discussion in 'General Writing' started by jim79, Jul 13, 2014.

Hi there,

I've been suffering from this for a while(stress, anxiety, insomnia, anger issues etc) and have been looking online for advice but the only ones I can find are mainly for college students. does anybody know of any links for fiction writers?

Thanks

Jim

2. JetBlackGT

JetBlackGT Senior Member

Where is the anxiety coming from? I think many people feel the opposite about writing. It's a hobby and they can't wait to get home to do it *more*.
    Are you writing professionally and not enjoying your work? Deadlines? What?

3. jim79

jim79 Member

I've been writing for a few years on and off as a hobby and have written two books and a few short storys.

I really enjoy it when I'm in the zone and writing but when I stop and think about it I start to feel anxious about how it looks and reads and how many words I've done etc,etc... Then it rolls on down hill from there.

Do other people feel the same?

4. ChaosReigns

ChaosReigns Ov The Left Hand Path Contributor

i do get that on occasions, but i use it to my advantage, when it comes to word count, take a look at national novel writing month, thats a month of solid writing set to a target of word count, which makes it easier to do. however, i cant unfortunately help you with the way it looks/reads as i dont get this issue, but there may be people here who do and will be able to help you with it.

5. cutecat22

cutecat22 The Strange One Contributor

That is a natural human reaction. Writing is quite a solitary thing and many writers can become almost withdrawn into their own little world so suddenly having your work 'out there' to be scrutinised by complete strangers (including people who don't have a clue how hard writing actually is) can put a writer under a lot of undue stress.