1. Peerie Pict

Peerie Pict Contributor Contributor

Writing Lifestyle

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Peerie Pict, Sep 10, 2009.

Hi everyone, I registered today and hoping to get to know a lot of you in the coming weeks.

I suppose I could be described as your proverbial beginner working on the concept, plot and character development of my book. I'm a fairly recent graduate and was hoping some of my skills in legal drafting and might help craft a fairly tight prose.

The only thing is, I'm not quite comfortable when it comes to writing as a discipline, i.e. how it fits into my life. I'm sure this has been covered at length in the past here so if you have any good threads I'd welcome a link.

In essence, is it wise to treat writing as a disciplined process of routine and determination or is it something that is quite fluid and spontaneous? I am better suited to a rigid routine and think it is probable that I'd get better results this way but at the same time I don't want to stifle creativity or sicken myself. Should I apply some of my time to studying the art of writing, or would my time be better spent getting things down on paper at all costs?

I have been writing somewhat but feel the experience is quite disjointed. From a practical point of view, I am trudging ahead and leaving out some detail and footnoting parts where I'd like to go back and flesh out an idea or detail that might take a bit of research to be credible. Is it wise to leave parts out and refer back to them at a later point?

I'd appreciate any tips from you seasoned writers who manage to make progress while living a fairly normal lifestyle.

There's a lot I'd like to discuss but I won't crowd it into one post.

Many thanks.

2. Cogito

Cogito Former Mod, Retired Supporter Contributor

Hello Peerie, Welcome to the Writing Forums.