Bug Report Minor bug reports

Discussion in 'Support & Feedback' started by Komposten, Mar 10, 2015.

Tags:
  1. Some Guy

    Some Guy Manguage Langler Supporter Contributor

    Joined:
    May 2, 2018
    Messages:
    4,648
    Likes Received:
    6,934
    Location:
    Procrasturbation Nation
    Thanks dude. I should have remembered this :)
     
    Iain Aschendale likes this.
  2. Iain Aschendale

    Iain Aschendale The third pronunciation of "potato" Staff Supporter Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2015
    Messages:
    11,727
    Likes Received:
    22,886
    Location:
    Seat 29e, Air Gradia 452
    No worries
     
  3. Komposten

    Komposten Insanitary pile of rotten fruit Technical Admin Staff Supporter Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2012
    Messages:
    2,272
    Likes Received:
    1,455
    Location:
    Sweden
    Makes perfect sense to me. When you write (:eek:) the software sees (:, so it puts a :). The next thing it finds that matches a smiley is :), so it puts another :). Doesn't matter what you put between the colons, this will always happen.
     
    Iain Aschendale likes this.
  4. sleepindawg

    sleepindawg Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2019
    Messages:
    257
    Likes Received:
    250
    Location:
    Florida, USA
    Hey all! :)

    So I started a thread and a misspelling in my title got past me. I know this because someone replied asking me to correct the misspelling in the title of the thread. Because it was a member of the staff I conclude that I should have an edit button or link on my OP there, but I can't find one. On the other hand, I did find an easy to find edit button on the post I made within that thread asking for help with editing the OP of that thread.

    Given the above, I'm turning this as a bug request.

    With respect,
    The dawg.
     
  5. Iain Aschendale

    Iain Aschendale The third pronunciation of "potato" Staff Supporter Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2015
    Messages:
    11,727
    Likes Received:
    22,886
    Location:
    Seat 29e, Air Gradia 452
    Taken care of. If you look up at the top right, there's a "thread tools" button that can be used to edit the title. Took me a while to find it to.
     
    sleepindawg likes this.
  6. sleepindawg

    sleepindawg Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2019
    Messages:
    257
    Likes Received:
    250
    Location:
    Florida, USA
    Thanks for the edit. :)

    On the other hand, I can't find the"thread tools" button you mention. This could be due to me using a browser that isn't working with your site well, my OS (Linux) causing the browser problem I mention, or you having tools on your screen that I don't have. That last possibility may be due to a problem with the site, or due to me being such a new member here. These are my best guesses which I hope will help. I have added a screenshot to show what I see right now. BTW, I can't find the "edit" button that I used to edit my reply, but it was there before.

    With thanks,
    The dawg
     

    Attached Files:

  7. Iain Aschendale

    Iain Aschendale The third pronunciation of "potato" Staff Supporter Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2015
    Messages:
    11,727
    Likes Received:
    22,886
    Location:
    Seat 29e, Air Gradia 452
    Hmm.. I don't have access to basic member-level views anymore, so I'm not sure. Anyway, problem solved, thanks for doing your best :)
     
    sleepindawg likes this.
  8. sleepindawg

    sleepindawg Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2019
    Messages:
    257
    Likes Received:
    250
    Location:
    Florida, USA
    While I'm here, and sort of on the "edit" button topic, why should someone be able to report himself? The two options are there for a short while after the post is made and while the "edit" button goes away the "report" button doesn't seem to leave at all. Does someone think that I will report myself even if nobody else does rather than just asking that a post be removed or edited?
     
  9. Komposten

    Komposten Insanitary pile of rotten fruit Technical Admin Staff Supporter Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2012
    Messages:
    2,272
    Likes Received:
    1,455
    Location:
    Sweden
    @sleepindawg
    As long as you are a New Member (i.e. until you have made 20 posts and been a member for 2 weeks) you can only edit your posts for the first few minutes (not sure of exact duration). This limit exists to counter spam.

    During the time span when you can edit a thread, you should see 'Thread Tools' at the top, and clicking this should give you the option to change thread title. Again, until you graduate to 'Member' status this option is only available for a few minutes.


    Regarding self-reports, it is the most efficient option if you want a moderator to edit, delete or move something for you. The report reaches all moderators and automatically includes a link to the content in question. And you can write a message (like 'posted in wrong place, please move') so we know what you want to do.

    Of course, you can send a PM to a mod instead if you want a more personal interaction.
     
    Last edited: Jun 21, 2019
    sleepindawg and Iain Aschendale like this.
  10. sleepindawg

    sleepindawg Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2019
    Messages:
    257
    Likes Received:
    250
    Location:
    Florida, USA
    Thanks, that answers my questions in that area just fine. :)

    With great thanks,
    The dawg

    EDIT: I'm just about to hit the halfway point on the time, and I just looked and found that I have most of the posts needed, so I guess I'm coming along just fine.
     
    Last edited: Jun 22, 2019
    Komposten and Iain Aschendale like this.
  11. EFMingo

    EFMingo A Nefarious Flamingo Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2014
    Messages:
    521
    Likes Received:
    716
    Location:
    San Diego, California
    In the blog rolls, whenever I comment initially, everything works fine. As soon as I edit that comment though, paragraph breaks no longer work. No matter if I try and edit them back in again, I always end up with a word block if I edit a comment (which i do often!).
     
  12. Komposten

    Komposten Insanitary pile of rotten fruit Technical Admin Staff Supporter Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2012
    Messages:
    2,272
    Likes Received:
    1,455
    Location:
    Sweden
    Probably a bug in the blog add-on . Not sure if there is much we can do about it, especially since the blog system will be replaced in the future (and the current add-on seems to have been discontinued).
     
    jannert likes this.
  13. jannert

    jannert Who? Whooo? Staff Supporter Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2013
    Messages:
    13,825
    Likes Received:
    15,371
    Location:
    Scotland
    That happens to me as well, @EFMingo . I am careful with my comments on any blog (which I don't make often anyway) because it's more or less impossible to edit them. I haven't tried deleting the comment and writing a new one, but that might be worth a try. I don't know if it will work, but hey.
     
    EFMingo likes this.
  14. Naomasa298

    Naomasa298 Member Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2019
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    99
    Location:
    The White Rose county, UK
    I don't know if this is a bug or not, but when I click on the Recent Posts link in the top right, it shows a different set of posts to the ones the box on the Forums page shows.
     
  15. Komposten

    Komposten Insanitary pile of rotten fruit Technical Admin Staff Supporter Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2012
    Messages:
    2,272
    Likes Received:
    1,455
    Location:
    Sweden
    The Recent Posts page only shows unread posts, while the sidebar widget on the start page also includes those you have read. Not sure if this is intended behaviour, though. :superthink:
     
    Naomasa298 likes this.

Share This Page