1. Laure (could be)

Laure (could be) New Member

Paris or East of France, depends on the mood

Shy French here

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Laure (could be), Nov 29, 2013.

Hi everyone,

My name is Laure (well... my alias is Laure). I'm a French writer. I'm published in my country but my unattainable dream is to be able to write professionally in English. I'm pretty sure it will never happen but it doesn't stop me from working on it.

I only learned English at school and in movies. I read it very well but my grammar is really deficient (sequence of tenses, I hate you). So I started a tumblr which I'm gonna try to update regularly. Two native English speakers told me that the result was "ok", so I'm now taking the plunge and... showing it to people I don't know personally.

I really hope I don't sound like a lolcatz.

Besides that... I'm in my 30's, I've got two kids, I love movies, archery, hiking, books obviously... and I'm a semi-professional actress.

And I'm nervous but very happy to be here :)

GingerCoffee likes this.
  2. Dean Stride

Dean Stride Senior Member

You're already more successful than half of us here, so I don't see why it won't happen.

Welcome to the forums!

3. Laure (could be)

Thank you :)

Well, I guess I'll eventually be able to speak and write in English without mistakes. But sounding like a native native is something else. We'll see.

4. Wreybies

Wreybies Thrice Retired Supporter Contributor

Welcome to the forum. :)

Take heart in knowing that it can be done, Laure. I work as an interpreter and only two of the five languages I hold in my brain were learned when I was young. There others were had after adulthood. Your writing looks pretty good to me so far, so it would seem you have the knack of it. ;)

Please have a look through the Forum Rules, and the FAQ as a start.

Have fun! :D

Wrey

5. Dagolas

Dagolas Banned

Living in France myself, may I inquire what book you've published?