1. writer one

writer one Member

Using italics

Discussion in 'Word Mechanics' started by writer one, Sep 24, 2015.

I use Italics as a writers style which I have not found yet. I use commas as when talking one stops and gets their breath when speaking. I am also interested in Wikipedia.org/HTML language if I am not sure of the information that is asked for. (The bottom line for me is to be understood without question, but I like you are not prefect yet and neither am I). Even when editing the editor will change a word or sentence because the grammar is wrong to them. I also have a serious problem with grammar, verbs nouns and the like.

I use paragraphs to simplify the reading. I am a casual writer. It could be problems for me because I emphasize the word (I) to much. Thoughts? writer one

2. Inks

Inks Senior Member

Your post is difficult to understand. To respond to the use of commas to denote breaks, as in the case of taking a breath, a serial comma might work. However, if it is a slight pause then you want to use ellipses.

3. ClassyCanuck

ClassyCanuck Member

In response to using italics, I find the most common use is when the person is thinking. Other writers may use italics to emphasis something important in a sentence, or stress a word in dialogue.
    For Example:

Did he just say that?
    She glared at the boy before her. A smirk twisted across his face. He did! He did just say that!

"I said there were too many people here, Ralph." His mother exclaimed.

4. xanadu

xanadu Contributor Contributor

The purpose of italics is, primarily, to emphasize a word or words so that they stand out. I use it sparingly, but sometimes it is called for--mostly in dialogue, but occasionally in heavily biased narrative.